Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Book Awards 2020 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards Finalists Announced

2020 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards Finalists Announced


Excellence Drives Fierce Competition in Ockham New Zealand Book Awards’ Shortlist

Debut writers and literary luminaries vie for the country’s premier book honours as the finalist were announced for the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards; 16 compelling works that explore and re-imagine the natural, cultural and creative landscapes of Aotearoa New Zealand.

The Ockham New Zealand Book Awards’ 2020 finalists were selected by four panels of three specialist judges (for fiction, poetry, illustrated non-fiction and general non-fiction) and were drawn from 40 longlisted titles that had been narrowed down from more than 170 entries – a 12 percent increase in submissions on the last three years.

The 2020 finalists for the $55,000 Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction are: Auē by Becky Manawatu; Pearly Gates by Owen Marshall; A Mistake by Carl Shuker and Halibut on the Moon by David Vann.

Mark Broatch, spokesperson for the fiction judges, applauds the “cheeringly excellent year for New Zealand fiction,” with novels and short story collections of great range, depth and surprise.

“Forced to winnow a great longlist to four, the judges found that these books stood above the others – for their storytelling brio, their exploration of salient ideas, and their dedication to language as a salve and seasoning for the mind, the marrow, the spirit,” he says.

Award-winning Australian (Wiradjuri) writer Tara June Winch will assist the three New Zealand judges to select this year’s Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction winner.

The finalists in the 2020 Mary and Peter Biggs Award for Poetry are: Moth Hour by Anne Kennedy; How to Live by Helen Rickerby; Lay Studies by Steven Toussaint and How I Get Ready by Ashleigh Young.

“The four shortlisted poets write in different styles, however all pay superb attention to craft, form and tone, and all have produced books with lasting impact,” says Poetry category convenor Kiri Piahana-Wong.

The 2020 Illustrated Non-Fiction category finalists are: Crafting Aotearoa: A Cultural History of Making in New Zealand and the Wider Moana Oceania edited by Karl Chitham, Kolokesa U Māhina-Tuai, Damian Skinner; Protest Tautohetohe: Objects of Resistance, Persistence and Defiance edited by Stephanie Gibson, Matariki Williams, Puawai Cairns; We Are Here: An Atlas of Aotearoa by Chris McDowall and Tim Denee; and McCahon Country by Justin Paton.

Odessa Owens, convenor of the Illustrated Non-Fiction judging panel, says the four finalist books are landmark publications that address significant cultural milestones. “These brilliantly crafted publications also demonstrate the growing confidence of writers, designers and publishers to innovate with design and world-class production values,” she says.

The 2020 General Non-Fiction category finalists are: Dead People I Have Known by Shayne Carter; Shirley Smith: An Examined Life by Sarah Gaitanos; Wild Honey: Reading New Zealand Women’s Poetry by Paula Green and Towards the Mountain: A Story of Grief and Hope Forty Years on from Erebus by Sarah Myles.

General Non-Fiction convenor of judges Sharon Dell says beautiful writing and compelling content have worked together to create four finalist books whose impact will be felt beyond this year. “The deployment of archival resources, solid research and the mining of memory bring insight into the lives of creative people, and an understanding of how individual lives and experiences reflect the identity and character of Aotearoa.”

New Zealand Book Awards Trust spokesperson Paula Morris says that “each year brings surprises, and this highly competitive year is no exception. The quality of books on the shortlists is exceptional. We anticipate that the decisions of the judges in each category will spark passionate debate.”

The winners of the 2020 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards, including the four MitoQ Best First Book award winners, will be announced at a ceremony on Tuesday 12 May as a marquee event during the 2020 Auckland Writers Festival.

The 2020 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards shortlisted titles are:

Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction:

  • Auē by Becky Manawatu (Mākaro Press)
  • Pearly Gates by Owen Marshall (Vintage, Penguin Random House)
  • A Mistake by Carl Shuker (Victoria University Press)
  • Halibut on the Moon by David Vann (Text Publishing)

Mary and Peter Biggs Awards for Poetry:

  • Moth Hour by Anne Kennedy (Auckland University Press)
  • How to Live by Helen Rickerby (Auckland University Press)
  • Lay Studies by Steven Toussaint (Victoria University Press)
  • How I Get Ready by Ashleigh Young (Victoria University Press)

Illustrated Non-Fiction Award:

  • Crafting Aotearoa: A Cultural History of Making in New Zealand and the Wider Moana Oceania by Karl Chitham, Kolokesa U Māhina-Tuai, Damian Skinner (Te Papa Press)
  • Protest Tautohetohe: Objects of Resistance, Persistence and Defiance edited by Stephanie Gibson, Matariki Williams, Puawai Cairns (Te Papa Press)
  • We Are Here: An Atlas of Aotearoa by Chris McDowall and Tim Denee (Massey University Press)
  • McCahon Country by Justin Paton (Penguin Random House)

General Non-Fiction Award:

  • Dead People I Have Known by Shayne Carter (Victoria University Press)
  • Shirley Smith: An Examined Life by Sarah Gaitanos (Victoria University Press)
  • Wild Honey: Reading New Zealand Women’s Poetry by Paula Green (Massey University Press)
  • Towards the Mountain: A Story of Grief and Hope Forty Years on from Erebus by Sarah Myles (Allen & Unwin)

The General Non-Fiction, Poetry and Illustrated Non-Fiction category winners will each receive a $10,000 prize. The winners of the four MitoQ Best First Book awards will each receive $2,500.

The Ockham New Zealand Book Awards are supported by Ockham Residential, Creative New Zealand, Jann Medlicott and the Acorn Foundation, Mary and Peter Biggs, MitoQ and the Auckland Writers Festival.

To find out more about the shortlisted titles go tohttp://www.nzbookawards.nz/new-zealand-book-awards/2020-awards/shortlist/


Author: Litfests

Site Publisher


Winchester Writers’ Weekend

Winchester Writers’ Weekend is a new weekend festival for emerging...

Barnes Children’s Literature Festival

London's Largest Dedicated Children's Literature Festival London's largest dedicated children's...

Guernsey Literary Festival

With over 70 events for all interests and ages,...

Featured Author

Chrys Salt MBE

Chrys Salt is a poet with roots deeply planted in...

Wolfgang Grulke

Intoxicated by a sense of wonder for the future,...

Sarah Clutton

Sarah Clutton grew up in a large, raucous family...

March 2020

King’s Lynn Literature Fiction Festival

The King's Lynn Literature Festivals are held during a single weekend...

April 2020

Wrexham Carnival of Words

The Carnival of Words is a festival to promote...

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

%d bloggers like this: