- Literary News

Toggle Menu

Wyoming Writers Award and Contest Winners 2013

Wyoming  is a state in the mountain region of the Western United States. Wyoming is the 10th most extensive, but the least populous and the second least densely populated of the 50 United States. The western two thirds of the state is covered mostly with the mountain ranges and range lands in the foothills of the Eastern Rocky Mountains, while the eastern third of the state is high elevation prairie known as the High Plains. Cheyenne is the capital and the most populous city of Wyoming with a population of nearly 60,000 people within its city proper.

Sounds like a wonderful place to write in peace and quiet. Wyoming Writers Inc. recently recognised their local talent. Well done to all.

Western Horizon Award (for first publication): Lea Scheonwald, Thermopolis - Polished Corners of the Temple Wall.
Milestone Award (for continuous publishing work): Gayle Mansfield Irwin, Casper - Walking in Trust:  Lessons Learned with My Blind Dog; short stories in Chicken Soup for the Soul: I Can't Believe My Dog Did That! and Chicken Soup for the Soul: Finding My Faith; children's story "Blind Faith" published in Spring 2013 issue of Creation Illustrated; regular contributor to Our Town Casper magazine and River Press (Fort Benton, MT) newspaper; and periodic contributing writer to the Casper Journal.
Arizola Magnenat Award (to individual, business or organization in support of Wyoming writers): The Knowledge Nook, toys & books, Casper, owned by Patrick and Leah Stover
Emmie Mygatt Award (to a WW Inc member for outstanding service to the organization, in honor and memory of one of WW Inc.'s founders): Katie Smith, Gillette.
Fiction: 1st Place: "Lessons”—by Deborah Boller, Oakland, CA; 2nd Place: “Ranch Management”—by Tom Spence, Buffalo, WY; 3rd Place: "Shoshoni for a Shake - by Devin Hodges, Casper, WY.
Nonfiction: 1st Place: “Visiting the Prison”—by Vickie Goodwin, Douglas, WY; 2nd Place: “White Flour and White Sugar”—by Joy Johnson, Laramie, WY; 3rd Place: “Beyond the Sunflower Seed Café”—by Cameron Byrne, Riverton, WY.

Children's/YA Fiction/Nonfiction: 1st Place: “The Night She Chose”—Kathy Bjornestad, Sundance, WY; 2nd Place: “The White Pony”—Carolyn Dickinson, Scottsbluff, NE; 3rd Place: “The Beautiful Cloud”—Lou Lenhart, Casper, WY.
Free Verse Poetry: 1st Place: “Ballad for Marney Lee”—by Ellen Sue Blakey, Thermopolis, WY; 2nd Place: “As Ever”—by Anne Meyer, Casper, WY; 3rd Place: “Winter Geese: New Year’s Eve”—by Ellen Sue Blakey, Thermopolis, WY.
Traditional Poetry: All 3 top placements were won by Cornelius Kelly, Pinedale, WY:
 1st Place: “SPAM Musubi”—by Cornelius Kelly; 2nd Place: “Anniversary”—by Cornelius Kelly; 3rd Place: "Open Admission" —by Cornelius Kelly

"Short and Sweet" - Flash Fiction and Limmericks: 1st Place: “Scarlet Shower”—Kathy F. Sanders, Rock Springs, WY; 2nd Place: "The Last Goodbye" —Neva Bodin, Casper;  3rd Place: “Summer Whine”—Vickie Goodwin, Douglas, WY.

About the Awards
The Western Horizon Award and the Milestone Award are open to current members of Wyoming Writers, Inc., and each award may have multiple recipients as they are non-competitive. Since the Western Horizon Award and the Milestone Award recognize individual achievement, these awards do not require another member's nomination and must be made by the member seeking the award.

The Western Horizon Award recognizes a writer’s first major work published between May 2012 and May 1, 2013. For a first book, include the title, ISBN, the publisher, and publication date. (The book must have an ISBN to qualify for this award.) For a first article/story/essay/poem in a major publication, include the title of the work, the name of the periodical, and date of publication. The periodical must be national or literary, and have a subscriber base. The member seeking the award makes this nomination.

The Milestone Award recognizes published writers for ongoing achievements of personal significance in their writing careers. Submissions should succinctly express the breadth and depth of writing career as well as an explanation of what specific events took place that launched the milestone. The member seeking the award makes this nomination.

For the Arizola Magnenat Award and the Emmie Mygatt Award, the recipients (one each) are chosen from nominations submitted by the current membership of WW Inc.

The Arizola Magnenat Award is given to any adult, organization, business, or other entity that has provided special encouragement and motivation to writers. A nominee for this award does not have to be a member of WW Inc. If you know an adult, an organization, a business, or other entity that has given much encouragement and motivation to writers, they would be eligible for the Arizola Magnenat Award (open to non-members). The nomination must include a letter explaining why the nominee deserves this award.

The Emmie Mygatt Award is given to a WW Inc member for outstanding service to the organization, in honor and memory of one of WW Inc.'s founders. Past recipients and the outgoing president of WW Inc are ineligible for this award. The nomination must include a letter explaining why the nominee deserves this award.

Any questions or nominations should be directed to: Aaron Holst, WW, Inc., Awards Chair, 1508 Hill Pond Drive, Sheridan, WY 82801. Awards will be presented at the annual WW, Inc., conference banquet, June 2013, in Laramie, WY. Postmarked deadline: April 30, 2013. You can also email Aaron at  If you send nominations by email, please indicate in the subject line the communication concerns WW, Inc., Awards.)

More Information: